Month: August 2016

Top Ten Books I Wish Were On My Required School Reading List

Posted August 30, 2016 by Ashley in Top Ten Tuesdays / 0 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. This week is a back to school freebie. Since I don’t live in the city where I grew up, I’ve decided to make this weeks theme top ten books I wish were on my required school reading list grown up, based off the public schools around me (they are much better). Here is my list:

 

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games

I’m not going to lie, I’m kind of jealous kids get to read this series in school and get graded for it!

Golden Compass

The Golden Compass

This is just the type of adventure I was yearning for in middle school!

Lost Hero

The Lost Hero

Gah! Do kids these days know how good they have it!?

A Ghost Story

A Ghost Story

This is the type of book I would have stayed up all night reading, under the blanket with a flashlight!

The Hobbit

The Hobbit

Seriously! They get to read the Hobbit too, FOR SCHOOL!

eleanor and park

Eleanor and Park

I loved this book so much! How fun would it have been to discover these characters in high school?

Uglies

The Uglies

Anyone who knows me knows I am a Westerfeld fan, but I didn’t discover him until WAY later in life.

Paper Towns

Paper Towns

I’m not a huge John Green fan (I’ve only read one of his books) but I feel like I would have gravitated toward this book in high school.

I'll Give You the Sun

I’ll Give You the Sun

Anther book I totally loved, though this probably would have been banned in my school, which means I would have totally smuggled it in!

Half Bad

Half Bad

This entire series is still on my TBR list and I’m pretty surprised it’s on our local Summer Reading Lists!

I would be super excited to read these books if I were in school now, my required school list was filled with classics certainly not anything published with in the last 5 years! What do you think of my required school list?

Thanks for reading!-2

Divider

Books on My Shelf Since Before Blogging

Posted August 29, 2016 by Ashley in Top Ten Tuesdays / 0 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. This week the theme is books that have been on my shelf since before I started blogging. I am sad to say there are way more than ten books that fall into this category…here is my list.

 

House of Sand and Fog by Andre Dubus III

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book, the movie is supposed to be great too but…I just haven’t gotten around to it.

Sand and Fog

Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

For some reason these books speak to me, I’ve yet to read the first book but I’m pretty sure I own the entire series *shrugs shoulders*

Sweetness Bottom Pie

Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

I’ve actually started this one a couple of times but for some reason I just can’t get into it.

Thirteenth Tale

Atonement by Ian McEwan

This is another one of those books I’ve wanted to sit down with for so long and just haven’t.

Atonement

In Cold Blood Truman Capote

The copy I own of this book actually still belongs to my high school…Its been on my TBR before TBRs were a thing!

In Cold Blood

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

A long time ago I heard about this great author called Mitch Albom. I ran across this book (and a few others) at a used book store, bought them all, brought them home and, well…there they sit.

Tuesdays with Morrie

The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman

Honestly, it’s weird that I even have this book. This isn’t something I would normally read, I think the cover got me and I just picked it up.
Dovekeepers

Away by Amy Bloom

I saw this one at a thrift store and picked it up, the description seems interesting…maybe one day I’ll get to it!

Away

 What about you? Do you have any books that have been sitting on your shelves for too long?

Thanks for reading!-2

 

Divider

Thieving Weasels

Posted August 22, 2016 by Ashley in Book Review, Brief Book Review, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Thieving WeaselsThieving Weasels by Billy Taylor
Format: ARC
Genres: Young Adult
on August 23rd 2016
Pages: 320
Published by Dial Books Source: Publisher
Goodreads

Skip O’Rourke is dragged into one last con . . . but he doesn’t know the con’s on him in this funny, page-turning debut YA for fans of Winger and Ocean’s Eleven.
Cameron Smith attends an elite boarding school and has just been accepted to Princeton University alongside his beautiful girlfriend, Claire. Life for Cameron would be perfect, except that Cameron Smith is actually Skip O’Rourke, and Skip O’Rourke ran away from his grifter family four years ago…along with $100,000 of their “earnings” (because starting a new life is not cheap). But when his uncle Wonderful tracks him down, Skip’s given an ultimatum: come back to the family for one last con, or say good-bye to life as Cameron.
“One last con” is easier said than done when Skip’s family is just as merciless (and just as manipulative) as they’ve always been, and everyone around him is lying. Skip may have given up on crime, but there’s one lesson he hasn’t forgotten: always know your mark. And if you don’t know who your mark is . . . it’s probably you.

When you are 17 years old, you pretty much think your family is the worse. Of course you would be wrong because Skip O’Rourke wins the award for the worse family ever. When Skip was growing up, his mother wasn’t teaching him how to read or write, she taught him how to con people. Skip grew up moving from school to school never making any real friends or learning anything other than crime. When Skip was 4 years old he discovered just how messed up his life really was and he wanted out. Nine years later at, 13, Skip finally runs away from his terrible family and starts school at prestigious Wheaton Academy.

Cookie Thief

Skip has worked hard at Wheaton, earning a 3.92 GPA, he is nationally ranked in Lacrosse and just got accepted to Princeton. Have I mentioned Claire in all this? She’s Skip’s very rich, very smart girlfriend who knows nothing about his past, she also knows him as Cam Smith. Skip returns to his dorm room just after seeing Claire leave for the summer only to find an intruder has destroyed the place. And so it begins. Skip is dragged back home and into the worse scam of his life.

Thieving Weasels was an enjoyable read. Skip’s smart mouth made me laugh more than once, I’ve never been so accepting of my family either! I’m not sure what it was but I felt like the ending was rushed. There was so much lead up to the final con and not a lot of follow-up after it, the story seemed to just drop off. None the less it was a good, quick read that kept me entertained.

three-half-stars

Divider